Planning Commission

About the Planning Commission

The Planning Commission works closely with the Planning Department staff to improve the community through sound land use and related planning policy. It acts as a citizen advisory body that informs and guides long-range and current planning policies and decisions. In certain cases, it provides recommendations to the City Council while acting of its own accord in others. The Planning Commission consists of seven members who are not elected officials or employees of the City, each appointed for four-year terms. The Commission meets on the second and fourth Monday of each month when planning business is brought before it. The City is currently accepting applications for open Planning Commission positions.

If you would like more information about the Planning Commission, please contact the Planning Department, at (541)-535-2050 Ext. 316.

Please remember that, other than Staff, the people listed below are volunteers working on behalf of our community and should only be contacted regarding matters related to their particular commission, committee, or board.

Please do not contact any members of the Planning Commission regarding a pending application.

Current Openings

Planning Commission - 1 Opening
Contact Bonnie Pickett, City Recorder, for more details: 541-535-1955 Ext. 302 or e-mail


NameTitleTerm BeganTerm Ends
Melissa SchneyderCommissioner01/01/202112/31/2024
Milan HansonCommissioner01/01/202312/31/2026
Marcia MonceauxCommissioner01/01/202312/31/2026
Vacant SeatCommissioner01/01/202312/31/2026
Terry HelfrichChair01/01/202312/31/2026
Carolyna MarshallVice-Chair01/01/202112/31/2024
Jeffrey LuersCommissioner01/01/202112/31/2024


Zac MoodyCommunity Development Manager
Kristina PepperBuilding & Planning Aide
Jeff WilcoxAssociate Planner

Contact Information

PO Box 330
220 N. Main Street
Phoenix, 97535

Zac Moody
Community Development Manager

Phone: (541) 535-2050 Ext. 313
Fax: (541) 535-5769